The Remnant Chronicles: A Book Review

 

THE REMNANT CHRONICLES

A Book Review

 

 

The Remnant Chronicles is a fantasy trilogy with three books: The Kiss of Deception, The Heart of Betrayal, and The Beauty of Darkness. This trilogy is about the histories of the Ancients along with the three women (Gaudrel, Venda, and Morrighan) who started the Kingdoms across the continent, and the Dragon who seeks to destroy the Kingdoms to make it his own because of his lust and hunger for power. The remnant chronicles prophesized a girl named Jezelia with the gift of knowing, who will “expose the wicked” and be sacrificed to save the lives the Dragon will destroy. Although this isn’t just about wars and rebellions, but also about falling in love, having hope in the midst of despair, and knowing that family isn’t always found in blood alone.

 

________________________________________________________________________

 

DISCUSSIONS

 

My favorite character is of course, Lia because she is fierce, brave and loyal to her duties in the kingdoms she loved most: Morigghan and Venda. I admired how she chose to follow her own kind of strength (which is the gift of knowing) and to let the love of her life, Rafe go who became King of Dalbreck.

The story itself was written so beautifully that it latched onto my heart because of how the author had made the characters feel so real. The author wrote it in such a way to make me feel like I am part of the their world. I felt like I was in there with Lia, just watching her run for her life, cry for the people she loved, fight for the innocent, fall in love with the Prince of Dalbreck disguised as a farmer, win battle against the barbarian kingdom of Venda, and sacrifice her own happiness in order to fulfill her duties to the Kingdoms of Morigghan and Venda.

This is by far, the most beautiful trilogy ever written. A lot of emotions sprang from me while I read through the first book until the last book. I cried, I laughed, my heart broke many times, and I’ve shed many tears too. The moment I finished reading the third book and realized that it has finally come to an end, the feeling of devastation consumed me that even in my dreams I am still living in Lia’s world because it’s that hard to let go. If this trilogy could make its way to the movies, I’d definitely watch and I know I’d be devastated even more because of how disappointing the movie would be. We all know movies that came from books always have its way to destroy the plot. I just really hope the movies will follow through the book, page per page, word per word, because if it doesn’t, I don’t know what else to feel aside from getting my heart broken over and over again.

 

BOOK RATING

 

10 stars out of 10. Hands down to Mary E. Pearson

Leave a comment